‘Star Trek: Discovery’ Showrunners Exit; Alex Kurtzman Taking Over

Star TrekAlex Kurtzman is replacing Aaron Harberts and Gretchen Berg as showrunner for CBS All Access’ Star Trek: Discovery midway through its Season 2 shoot.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, Kurtzman is set to take over as showrunner for Star Trek: Discovery as it heads into its sophomore season. Kurtzman is replacing Harberts and Berg. Brian Fuller was the original showrunner before Harberts and Berg took over from him. Kurtzman already has an executive producer credit on the series and co-wrote J.J. Abrams’ first two Star Trek films.

Kurtzman will be taking over the series midway through its production. Harberts and Bergs’ exits were due to “leadership and operational” issues. The show will reportedly go on a hiatus after already shooting its first five episodes of Season 2, allowing for Kurtzman to take over the series. CBS Television Studios producers said in a statement:

“We’ve made some producer changes at Star Trek: Discovery. The series continues under the creative vision and leadership of executive producer and co-creator Alex Kurtzman. Discovery remains on course for season two in 2019 with new and continuing stories that build on its successful premiere season.”

Discovery is produced by CBS Television Studios in association with Secret Hideout, Living Dead Guy Productions and Roddenberry Entertainment. Alex Kurtzman, Bryan Fuller, Heather Kadin, Gretchen J. Berg, Aaron Harberts, Akiva Goldsman, Rod Roddenberry and Trevor Roth serve as executive producers.

The series stars Sonequa Martin-Green as Commander Michael Burnham, Doug Jones as Lieutenant Saru, Jason Isaacs as Captain Gabriel Lorca, Anthony Rapp as Lieutenant Stamets, Shazad Latif as Lieutenant Tyler, Maulik Pancholy as Dr. Nambue, Sam Vartholomeos as Ensign Connor, Mary Wiseman as Cadet Tilly, Rekha Sharma as Commander Landry, Wilson Cruz as Dr. Hugh Culber, Terry Serpico as Admiral Anderson, Clare McConnell as Dennas, Kenneth Mitchell as Kol, Mary Chieffo as L’Rell, Damon Runyan as Ujilli, Chris Obi as T’Kuvma, James Frain as Sarek, Michelle Yeoh as Captain Georgiou and Rainn Wilson as Harry Mudd.Star Trek: Discovery is available now on CBS All Access.

Source: The Hollywood Reporter

10 Actors Who Could Play Indiana Jones After Harrison Ford

Previous1 of 11

Indiana Jones 5 Harrison Ford Steven SpielbergIndiana Jones is one of the most iconic figures in movies. He has had four big screen cinematic adventures with a fifth one on the horizon currently set for release on July 10, 2020, marking the last time Harrison Ford wears the iconic fedora.

Director Steven Spielberg has already talked about how the next Indiana Jones could be a woman. The reaction to this news was met with the immediate dismissal that normally comes to recasting an iconic character and typically made worse when someone even makes the mere suggestion of race or gender bending a role. A large amount of this backlash comes from the simple fact that to a good portion of fans it is hard to separate Harrison Ford from the part. Just look at how hard it is for audiences to accept Alden Ehrenreich as a young Han Solo.

Yet unlike Han Solo, it shouldn’t be too difficult for people to imagine another Indiana Jones because we’ve already seen other versions of the character. River Phoenix, Corey Carrier and Sean Patrick Flanery have all portrayed younger incarnations of the character and George Hall played a 90-year-old version of the character. There is a precedent for another actor playing Indiana Jones.

It is highly unlikely Disney will let this brand go. The studio could continue the franchise similarly to Star Wars: The Force Awakens or Creed, doing a midquel set between Last Crusade and Crystal Skull or even a reboot of the franchise. The possibilities are endless. But for now, take at look ten performers that Disney and Lucasfilm should consider as next Indiana Jones. Click Next to get started!

Previous1 of 11