‘Batman v Superman: Dawn Of Justice’ Review

image

It’s finally here! After an excruciating 3 year wait, Batman v Superman will finally hit theaters in two days. It’s been a long road leading up to this point. I remember it like it was just yesterday when it was first announced by Harry Lennix and Zack Snyder at San Diego Comic-Con in 2013. Harry appeared on stage citing a quote from Frank Millers The Dark Knight Returns announcing the Man of Steel sequel would be a Battle Royale between The Dark Knight and the Man of Tomorrow. He spoke the words “I want you to remember” and remember we shall. Man of Steel wasn’t a masterpiece, but it was an incredible Superman film, if not the best Superman movie in my own eyes. Fans have been debating with the quality of that film for three years. So, when this was announced, the people that didn’t like Man of Steel were very critical of everything that came out about this film. Batman v Superman was hit with a lot of scrutiny based on numerous casting decisions. When Ben Affleck was cast as Batman the internet went mad with rage. Many people thought that the guy who starred in a bad Daredevil film and the atrocious Gigli could never be a good Batman. I for one was a little apprehensive about the casting at first, but after viewing Argo and The Town my mind was totally changed. Then they announced Gal Gadot and Jesse Eisenberg were cast as Wonder Woman and Lex Luthor in the film and everybody freaked again. This time I didn’t budge. I had absolute faith in their casting choices. Filming began, stills of each star in costume came out and the criticisms still remained. Until DC rocked the house with a jaw dropping teaser at SDCC ’14 and an amazing trailer for SDCC ’15. Time went on and DC dropped one bad trailer and then regrouped with some really great TV spots at the NFL playoffs. Now the wait is finally over for me because Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice premiered in New York City on Sunday at Radio City Music Hall and I was one of the very lucky people to attend.

Warning Possible Spoilers Ahead!

Batman v Superman is a film that meets all of my expectations. Besides the awkward pacing in the first act during the scenes of Senator Finch, the film delivers everything I thought it would plus a few surprises. Upon second viewing my issues with the pacing were unnoticed. It might’ve been game day jitters causing me to find something wrong. But, back to what matters, I believe Ben Affleck is the best Batman/Bruce Wayne ever. He was literally ripped from the comics. His suit looked amazing in action. His neck could finally move fluidly in his cowl and he was a brawler who destroys criminals in battle. Now on to my minor negatives. I think the “Knightmare” scenes may be a little dark for young children, but Batman is supposed to be dark. His interactions with Jeremy Irons’ Alfred reminded me so much of Bruce Timm’s Batman: The Animated Series. Alfred was such a sarcastic Smart Aleck, but he also grounded Bruce and tried to convince him not to fight Superman. Henry Cavill stepped it up for me this time. In Man of Steel he was a rookie making mistakes. Now he’s a bit more mature and coming into his own as Superman, but there’s a lot of growing that he still has left. This film basically pokes at all of the mistakes of Man of Steel and smacks you in the face with solutions to all the problems. It had Superman doing Superman things. Things like preventing global catastrophes and taking his fights out of populated areas. His portrayal of Clark should not be ignored. I read an interview with Henry, before I saw the film, where he said this is Clark Kent from the comics and boy was he right. Clark is always missing at the Daily Planet and when he was there he was chasing a story that he was specifically told to let go. Clark just wanted to stop Batman from violating the civil liberties of criminals.

The other performances in the film were off the charts. Jesse Eisenberg’s Lex Luthor was great mix of psychotic, intelligent and evil. He’s the puppeteer of the entire brawl between our heroes and he knows a little bit more than he lets on. The way his character hides his psychotic persona in public and shows it off to Senator Finch completely sold me on Eisenberg. The enraged finger thumping, the red capes are coming, the tour of his father’s office shows you who he truly is. Amy Adams was solid, but she’s solid in every thing to me. Her relationship with Clark was just how I imagined it and she’s still one of the boldest journalists ever. Her first scene in Africa was a perfect representation of what her character is. My favorite line of hers is during a scene when she interviews a terrorist and he points out that she’s a woman and Lois says “No, I’m a journalist”. I loved Snyder’s interpretation of women. They were all strong. Holly Hunter’s Senator Finch was absolutely spectacular. Her interactions with Lex were done terrifically. Her position on Superman was justified and you even have to ask yourself “Must there be a Superman?”. The supporting characters did their jobs really well. Perry White was often the comic relief, Harry Lennix was back in stride as General Swanwick and Scoot Mcnairy absolutely nailed it. Martha Kent also plays a pivotal role in the conflict of the movie, which I’ll discuss in the plot. But, the show stealer, star, main event, whatever you want to call it was Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman. The crowd went insane, cheering for her first appearance on screen. When her theme “Is She With You?” Starts playing amps the crowd up even more. Gal Gadot delivers her every line. Her fight sequence was beautifully done. She showed her Amazonian fighting spirit, enjoying every minute of the battle with Doomsday. Other than that The Trinity had amazing chemistry together. The fight was a bit rough and showed they had zero experience fighting together, but that’s what made it great.

The film opens with an incredibly weird, but good sequence that gives us another look at Bruce Wayne’s parents death and gives us the perfect introduction to the DC Extended Universe’s Batman. At the end of it, young Bruce is in a cave of Bats levitating and It’s basically a metaphor of his ascension to becoming The Batman. The story isn’t the strongest I’ve seen, but it does the job if you pay very close attention to every piece of the puzzle. I loved how they set up future movies and even made you want to know more about the backstory of certain characters. The Batman story made me want to see him in his prime taking down criminals brutally in Gotham. Jesse Eisenberg’s Lex is the glue that holds this entire story together. He is the puppeteer, the man controlling everything and it works extremely well. He is the reason why they fight. His actions are so heinous, what he does will make you hate him. When Superman goes to fight Batman you’ll be hit with a few surprises. The fight was beautiful. I won’t tell you who will win, but I will say that everything comes down to one character, Martha Kent. The cameos from the Meta-Humans were perfect and opened the floodgates to the entire DC Extended Universe. Wonder Woman made the movie ten times better and it didn’t feel like she was shoved in there “just cause”. The explanation of why she’s there and what she’s looking for ties into the larger universe as a whole and I feel the general audience and DC fans will be excited for what’s to come in her solo adventure. Superman is Superman in this movie. He’s saving cats out of a trees, kids from fires, astronauts from from deaths, families from natural disasters and most importantly he tries to prevent damage by taking the fight into space. My only issues with Man of Steel were that he didn’t do any of that and to see him do it in this makes me praise Chris Terrio’s script. Not only did they get Superman down, they nailed Clark. They showed you his emotions on how the world views him. He has to stand idly by and just watch them talk badly about him. His relationship with Lois is a key point in this entire film and the ending will break you. This was his story, this was his movie, this was his world.

Overall Thoughts

I thought this was the perfect start to the DC Extended Universe. I had a tiny issue with the pacing in the first act, but a second viewing and the second and third acts make me forget my issue entirely. I love this film so much. The story is very complex and you need to pay very close attention to every detail. For certain things you’d really have to know DC Comics lore to understand. Especially the “Knightmare Scene” and that surprise cameo by The Flash. I wasn’t too sold on Affleck until seeing this film. He is the definitive Batman and his performance blew me away. Wonder Woman is the star of this movie and the entire crowd agreed by screaming each time she appeared. Jesse Eisenberg’s Lex Luthor was the perfect mix of insane, evil and downright brilliant. Jeremy Irons was a great Alfred and was the perfect comedic presence in the film, if you like sarcasm. Last but not least, Superman. Henry Cavill gave us one hell a performance. They redeemed Superman. This film is everything you want it to be and then some. You will laugh. You will cry. Go see it. Grab your tickets and take your kids. They will love it. I know I did. I’m taking my nephews this weekend!

SCORE: 8.5/10

Fearing the actions of a god-like Super Hero left unchecked, Gotham City’s own formidable, forceful vigilante takes on Metropolis’s most revered, modern-day savior, while the world wrestles with what sort of hero it really needs. And with Batman and Superman at war with one another, a new threat quickly arises, putting mankind in greater danger than it’s ever known before.”

 

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice hits theaters this Friday March 25th, 2016!!

Nathaniel Brail

Nathaniel Brail

Genius, Playboy, Billionaire, Philanthropist, Deputy. Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @NateBrail

  • SDE456

    nice

  • Jimmi

    It’s amazing how everyone is so divisive about the movie rating. You guys gave it a 8.5/10, whereas, IGN gave it a 6.8/10, cause it didn’t have enough jokes. So guess we can give it an overall of 7.5/10.

    • IGN is a joke in reviews. To me, it’d be far better if their standard was adapted in framing their statements as their opinions rather than an absolute rightful fact.

    • Новица Чворовић

      ign gave age of ultron 8.6 and deadpool 7.5, don’t listen to them… actually don’t listen to anybody go and see it for yourself, but “critics” who gave low scores are saying Goyer wrote it bad (facepalm) they forget that Terrio rewrite the entire script… who cares go and see it for yourself

    • henryducard

      I am an extremely harsh critic because I’ve been reading comics for over 20 years and I can tell you this movie is a 9.8 out of 10 to me. The problem with ign is most of thepeo pole that write for them are the new Disney marvel fans and don’t actually know anything about the source material so all the references went over their head entirely as well as the subtleties of the sTory. It was a phenomenal movie and its redefining the genre there’s absolutely nothing to fear.

      • Jimmi

        Its nice to hear. Fans obviously know what they’re getting cause of the source materiel and our love for these characters. And, honestly, I think this movie was made for the fans, not really for general audiences.

        • henryducard

          It the first superhero movie ever purely made for fans while managing to delve into the substance and problems of the uncertain times we now live in. Its genius.

          • Jimmi

            What you just said is precisely the reason why everyday movie-going critics didn’t like it; Because it “delve into substance” and critics want a brain-dead popcorn flick. They can’t handle substance and add to it a comic-book movie? No way BvS was gonna get rave reviews. You either get a Comicbook movie or you get substance, BvS gave both and critics didn’t like that.

          • mjayace

            Best comment of the day.

          • Mario-Francisco Robles

            Critics sure didn’t mind The Winter Soldier, which had plenty of substance.

      • nametaken

        would you say this movie is only good if you read DC Comics and want it to mention whats going on in that writing?

      • FHS Nerf 2016

        I don’t read any comics but have seen every DC movie and have a decent knowledge of the DC universe at least a lot more so than marvel. Will viewers like me ,who love batman and I was also a big fan of man of steel, enjoy this movie? Or is this more of a Taylor made film for DC comic fanboys and readers that will go over the heads of many?

        • henryducard

          Ill admit there are references that will go over your head but it should encourage you to start reading comics like a momoo.In general you’ll understand the main themes of the film and Batman will blow you away.

  • I didn’t care for Eisenberg’s performance or portrayal of Lex. He was a little too loco for my taste. I also agree, the pacing threw me off, but maybe that will get better on my second viewing.

    • henryducard

      He was a little off but some of the references they had for the character are from comics where he completely loses it. It still fit.

  • Marquis de Sade

    /Film gave it a 6/10.

    • Jake Bucsko

      CBR gave it a bad review, too. IGN says 6.8/10 but it reads worse than that. I’m reading bad review after bad review and just dying inside right now. I’m glad this guy liked it but I’m so worried all my fears are about to be realized. This is a dark, dark day.

      • henryducard

        Dude all these reviews are a joke i saw it yesterday its amazing. If you are an actual dc comic fan and you understand the references you’ll love it. It seriously redefines the genre.

        • Carl

          Looks like it redefines it in a bad way…

          • henryducard

            No it makes the marvel films look like little kids movies.

          • Pelvic Sorcerer

            Well-reviewed little kids movies but whatever.

          • Carl

            Yet MoS and BvS seem to only excel at epic punch fests. You say Marvel movies are for kids and they are but they are also for everyone else.

            MoS and BvS it seems are targeted at pre-teen boys full of angst.

          • Fro

            These types of comments are the worse and dumbest comments.

          • Orion

            I sincerely doubt it does it in a bad way. Its jsut that everyone is so accustom to Marvel’s formula that it has become the basic standard for a comic book movie.

        • Fro

          put down the pipe

      • Marquis de Sade

        EW gave it a C+, but the tone of the actual review was more negative and snarky…So the C+ was the reviewer being generous than honest.

        • mjayace

          That’s Chris Shasta McNasty, he doesn’t like any big films. He’s a total wanna be hipster.

      • Fro

        This is a fanboy review. The movie was horrid. Coming from a HUGE Batman fan. All the GREAT batman stuff could not make this movie good.

    • breakerbaker

      Out of curiosity: How do you understand that 10-point scale of movies to work? I think we all intuitively understand the meaning of a 5-point scale (i.e., assuming you can give zero stars, that makes 2.5 average/okay, and anything above or below that a defacto positive or negative (respectively) review.

      With a 10-point scale, though, do you get the sense that people view the middle of the scale as below average? That is, do you think they treat it as though they are grading a paper? That is 10 is perfect, 9 is great, 8 is good, 7 is average/okay, and everything below 7 is a negative review, and anything below 6 is an indistinguishable mass of terrible.

      I am genuinely curious about how other people see that 10-point scale, because it feels like it should function with the same rules of the 5-point scale, but almost never does.

      • Hinscher

        Video game reviewers have ruined the system. To most people anything lower than a 9 is bad. Below an 8 is garbage.

  • gradybridges

    This will be the best review it’ll get unless Harry is gaga over it. Most reviews have this as horrible and even the good review recognize the problems. Get rid of Snyder if you want to save the DCU. He is 0-2

    • henryducard

      Have you even seen it yet?

      • ArtimusGG

        Half the reviewers have never seen it or saw it with cynical eyes. There’s so much to this message that is being missed, such as themes concerning xenophobia, security, democracy, God, tragedy, and hope.

        • gradybridges

          And you based this bias off what?

          • ArtimusGG

            Reviews are vague and use the same key phrases over and over, “not fun” being my favorite. Saying it’s not fun shows the reviewers approached the movie incorrectly, likely with a bias of trying to approach it like a Marvel movie like Avengers instead of judging it on its own merit. It’s like saying Gone Girl was bad because it’s not fun, or Deadpool is bad because it’s not serious enough, it’s not supposed to be. Laughably bad reviews.

        • henryducard

          The average viewer can’t handle complex themes anymore.

          • ArtimusGG

            Honestly most viewers thought the movie was good, it’s the critics who are screaming at a golden egg for not being a potato

      • gradybridges

        Ok so you trust this review and not others? I’m waiting for the Blu to come out to rent. Not going to waste my time when most say it isn’t worth it. The first superman was bad and the trailers looked weak.

        • Dizzle

          How can you say the DCU is failing if you haven’t seen the movie to know why it’s failing? And you are loterally going into the movie with the mindset that it is failing, mind you.

          • nametaken

            his post was pretty clear about the reasons.

          • Victor Thomas

            Dude I’m a huge DC fan and I watched it. I have no idea how they’ll fix that mess.

          • henryducard

            The best part is they are only on their second film and they are raking way more than marvel did on their second hahah! One day the Disney fans will see.

        • Victor Thomas

          Trust me bro it’s garbage.

          • SAMURAI36

            There’s no reason whatsoever to trust you.

        • henryducard

          I already saw it. It was freaking amazing. I dont need to trust any rereviewJust to put it in perspective i was very disappointed by man of steel and I hated the dark knight rises. This film redefines the genre it makes the marvel films look like kids movies.

          • Victor Thomas

            Marvels films are kids movies though and I think they are proud of that. You mentioned pandering but BVS was exactly that. They are pandering to popcorn movie fans who are into the new fad known as Superhero team up’s. They should’ve took their time instead trying to catch up to marvel. Wonder woman, Flash, Cyborg and Aqua man did not need to be in this movie their scenes serve no purpose except of being a giant billboard for future movies aka future ticket sales that is pandering sir! Zack Snyder made this movie by clipping out his favorite panels from certain comics and sticking them together and calling them a movie. This isn’t a film rather a highlight reel from DC comics.

          • henryducard

            You don’t get it. There is no catch up. These characters aren’t a team of b listers like the avengers and people actually know where Batman and superman came from. Origins are a total waste of time and not at all necessary for a great story and people have seemed to completely forget this. In this day and age in surprised James bond hasn’t an origin film. Jumping into a world that already exists isn’t really a problem. Batman wonderwoman and superman have always gotten together to search for metahumans to recruit that’s nothing new.

          • Victor Thomas

            it isn’t about having a origin movie it’s about respect for the characters integrity. One of the main reasons I love DC is that all their characters are important, so you take that away when you show Cyborg’s introduction to the Mother box which is one of the most important parts of his Storyline and an important part of the DC universe in a corny 15 second clip from a random lab feed, Aqua man on a deep sea diver found footage acting like a cornered sea creature when he is the king of a kingdom that more than half the entre world taking all the lore and rushing through it shows no respect for how important these characters are in this universe. My favorite superhero is batman so I’m more than happy how they did him in this movie but I’m a DC fan period and I want these characters treated as they should. You don’t think people other than us should see how these characters come to be? you and I might know who Cyborg is but not general audience members, I want these movies to be financially and critically successful so they keep making them till I die, my entire life lead to this moment, this movie and it failed real DC fans not casual ones like yourself who would accept this mediocre piece of garbage as an substantial first chapter to the DC universe. We deserve way more than this, it might just be some movie to you but I’ve been financially and emotionally involved with this company since the day I was born so you can go ahead and put lipstick on a pig and call it pretty but this movie is horrible.

          • henryducard

            Lol 20 years of hoarding comics and being called a nerd aand now I’m casual that’s rich. Remember that wonder woman movie coming next year and that aquaman one and cyborg and flash? Those weren’t introductions. You should probably find a life outside of this stuff too and maybe get a girlfriend man. You see i recognize this stuff for what it is. Its entertainment media its not real life. Over 70 some odd years there’s been thousands of interpretations of multiple characters and there will continue to be until we die so chill.

          • Fro

            I don’t think you know the meaning of introduction.

          • Andrew J. Miller

            “Origins are a total waste of time”
            Except for establishing characters you’re supposed to care about…which they seem dead set against.
            Horrible misstep.
            “Batman wonderwoman and superman have always gotten together to search for metahumans to recruit that’s nothing new.”
            Explain to me again how this applies to the casual movie-goer?

          • Pablo

            007 Origin: It’s called Casino Royale.

          • henryducard

            Ya I have that book it’s not an origin.

          • DarkoCool

            That sounds amazing! Im even more excited now!

        • SAMURAI36

          Who is “most”?

      • Fro

        I have and it SUCKS.

    • Carl

      Agreed

    • Lupin

      You new Disney marvel fans are ruining comicbook genre. Quit your trolling. The movie was EPIC and masterful. about 99% of fans love it and many critics love it too!

      • Marquis de Sade

        Rotten Tomatoes have it at 41% ROTTEN
        Metacritic has it at 46%.
        Stop wishcrafting.

        • Derick Morales

          That’s from about 60 -70 reviewers on RT. I wouldn’t call that a set in stone rating just yet. Also, one of the top reviewers said it should be more like Avengers, with more humor, and brighter colors….really??? Most of the reviews on RT right now are folks who really have a disdain for Super Hero films. And many of them hate Snyder. Honestly, I saw the film on Monday and it was awesome. Does it have flaws, sure! What super hero film doesn’t!?!? But it felt like it was straight out of the comics. The reviews from the guys at Collider put it best, it’s all there, but maybe it wasn’t edited the way it should have been. Bit Affleck was amazing, Henry was awesome, Jeremy irons was great, Wonder Woman was BA. Go see it and make your own judgement. Some people just want to hate because it’s popular to do so or because it’s not the Christopher Reeves Superman or whatever. Go See it for Yourselves!!! Screw critics! Form your own opinions!!!

          • SAMURAI36

            Didn’t you know? The opinions of a few people matter more than the POV of 1000’s.

      • henryducard

        The very first straight up fan movie that didn’t pander to new fake fans to try to make a buck. It was beautiful.

      • Victor Thomas

        Bullshit.

      • Fro

        99%? LOL, where the F you get that number at genius.

    • AP

      0-2? Haven’t seen BvS, but I loved Man of Steel. Your opinion is not set in stone for others to accept.

  • Marquis de Sade

    I wonder who’s gonna review it on HITFLIX, Drew McWeeney or Donna (what’s er name)?

  • JMMagwood

    Most of the major outlets, like USA Today, The AP, Variety, and Forbes like it. So far, so good. I couldn’t care less about the genre reviews like CBR. There’s too much bias in those groups.

    • Victor Thomas

      Name those major outlets trusted film critics. Put aside comics and superheroes it’s a horrible film general, I’d love for you to argue this point after watching It because up until yesterday I was trying to defend it just like you but there is no defending that mess.

      • JMMagwood

        I did name the outlets. You didn’t like it. Oh well. I haven’t seen it yet, so I’m not defending it, just stating a fact.

        • Victor Thomas

          Again name the trusted film critics from those major outlets. USA Today, The AP, and Forbes aren’t well known for reviewing movies with the exception being Variety.

          • JMMagwood

            I never said anything about “trusted film critics.” There’s no such thing anymore. My point was that the major national press outlets seem to be giving it good reviews. That sells tickets a lot more than CBR or whoever has a site these days. EW doesn’t like it, but that guy doesn’t seem to like anything shot with more than one camera.
            What’s your dog in the hunt? Man. Even when I hate a particular film in this genre, I shut up and let the people go and see for themselves, and enjoy it, for a few weeks before trying to ruin everyone’s building excitement for something that hasn’t even come out yet. Jeez.

      • henryducard

        You’re forgetting it’s from comics. Where was the mesit’Could it be that you possibly dont understand enough about the source material that they used to fully understand what they managed to do with the movie? I mean you ant please everyone…

        • Victor Thomas

          Trust me when it comes to DC I’ve read 1000’s of titles/comics in my life. it isn’t about source material, there is almost no plot or story to the movie, it isn’t a film it’s a bunch of scenes mash together for 2 and a half hours. in fact I guarantee I know more about DC comics than you and I’ll test that theory right now if you’d like. Did you even watch this movie? you can do all the fan service you’d like it doesn’t take away from the fact that it s one of the most laziest and uninspiring efforts in filmmaking.

          • henryducard

            Guarantee? Live been reading them for over 20 years and have also read thousands oweing to the fact that both of my older brothers also read them and my brothers friend owned a comic book shop so I highly doubt it and you can test me on that one sister.

          • Victor Thomas

            skype right now and prove it chump.

          • henryducard

            Unlike you I actually have a life and work to do currently so no.

          • JMMagwood

            Uh oh. He outed himself. Right here. Insulting troll. He probably didn’t even see the movie. AVOID

          • Exactly! The source material shouldn’t matter if it’s good movie.

        • People shouldn’t have to know the source material for it to be a good movie. Either it’s a good movie or it’s not. It doesn’t matter how many comics you have read.

    • unpaidpundit

      CBR’s comic book journalism is fine. Their reviews are garbage. Their critiques of movies and comic books rarely make any sense, and are often driven by political correctness, not aesthetic appreciation.

      • JMMagwood

        Agreed.

    • Triple M

      I don’t think it’s ” comic book journalism ” .. there’s lots of major outlets that didn’t like it.

      It sounds exactly like MoS… polarising

    • Foreign Geek

      I think the drawback is that the film was done in the style/form of a comic book. The flipping of the scenes… But it is obvious now to movie goers that this format does not work for everybody like the ones who don’t read comic books.

      This WAS A VALUABLE lesson from the Ang Lee’s Hulk movie and Watchmen (Even tho Watchmen was great!). It was not the only reason the Hulk movie failed but…..

  • Jose Duran

    Waoo 8.5!!! I read another review and basically this guy say the movie sucks,but every person that saw this movie say something diferent from his opinion,in sad because i not going to be available to see the movie on Thursday,im going to have to wait,whit ticket in hand.

  • TheSTN

    Well said & well written. I happen to agree with you!

    Everyone… don’t let ‘critics’ make up your mind for you about BvS (or any movie for that matter). If you are a fan, show support & go see it. If it sucks go ahead and complain. If it’s awesome go ahead and see it again. Don’t be a sheep and let some windbag, self-absorbed troll make a decision for you.

    Critics once hated on Rocky in 1976 & Star Wars in 1977… I’ll bet you’re glad you didn’t listen to them, aren’t you?

    Be an adult and make your own decisions. “Ohhhhh… Rotten Tomatoes and all of these people who I never heard of before didn’t like the movie some I’m not going to go!”

    Really?

    If you are a regular reader of someone and their track record is solid (case in point Umberto Gonzalez and HH) then clearly that is a different matter altogether. But 99% of these ‘critics’ hating on BvS I have never heard of before and if you are honest, nor have you.

    Judge for yourself… the mind is a terrible thing to waste.

    • henryducard

      Its like people have it set in their mind that they want it to fail which makes no sense to me. I don’t want marvel or dc to fail i want them to be locked in competition striving to make the best movies possible and adapting to fan reactions and requests. To me the film delivered and covered what man of steel was lacking and it just feels like onwards and upwards. I loved that they touched on terrorism, questions of theology, and superman acting unilaterally. It made it feel very real. The subtleties of the film were genius too like the plot twist that you don’t even realize is happening until the characters do. In excited for the future.

      • Drew Douglas

        People are gunning for DC for some reason.

        • Triple M

          No one’s ” gunning ” for DC.

          Everyone liked the Dark Knight.
          Snyder is just making bad movies.

          • Cody Enos

            No, people are gunning for DC. Snyder may be a small part of that, but I think the biggest problem is that to the general audience the DCEU is far inferior to the MCU. They’ve have nearly 10 years with MCU characters, and they’re whining that DC is different than Marvel. Then, you have the DC comic readers who were boycotting the New 52, and since the DCEU has a New 52-ish Superman they’re trying to spread the hate. For some reason DC has went from being the best known company (when they were releasing their animated series) to the most laughed at.

          • Triple M

            No, people are not gunning for DC. This is genuinely a bad movie. It’s not some vast conspiracy theory. The DCEU is far inferior to the MCU.
            No one cares about the New 52, they care about good movies.

          • Cody Enos

            Okay, your opinion is that this film is garbage. I get it. Personally I loved it. However, I was talking about DC as a company, not just their comic division, not just their film division, but the fact is there are few people who actually fully support DC in their film, animation, and comic departments, and there are even people who go out of their way to smear DC’s image. That’s a fact. If you were just talking about the film division then that would be a different story, and that’s my fault for misunderstanding. I would say DC hasn’t had the best resume in the film department, but I’d also say that with only two movies out I wouldn’t compare it to the 12 film monster that is the MCU. DC is taking a different approach, and setting their universe different than marvel, as they should, and by the first Justice League movie I think everyone will have a fair opinion on the DC vs Marvel movie universes.

          • mr_teaspoon

            We all understand what you’re saying. It just isn’t true.

          • Foreign Geek

            I personally liked The New 52! I didn’t like that Superman seem to be wearing body armor but the ‘Improvement’ in the costume was good for me. I liked the ‘Chinese Collar’ on the outfit, I don’t like seeing his shoulders and chest so bare (my personal opinion). Of course there were some issues with the continuity but it was good. You are right tho because after I read an interview with Dan Didio about the last comic con they/DC went to at the close of last year. He said that the DC panels were mostly empty and no one asked any questions at the end of their presentations.

            Dan Didio said that THAT was eye opening for them and so they knew they had to do something about it. Hence the new REBIRTH thing they are about to start.

            It sucks that Warner/DC messed up like this and to believe that Marvel almost went broke once!

          • Foreign Geek

            No one yet has disrupted a Marvel movie opening weekend. A friend of mine told me when she went to the Thursday opening, some dumb kid set off the fire alarm on purpose “SIX MINUTES INTO THE MOVIE”. The cops had to usher every one out and they had to leave the theater.

            Fortunately, no one was hurt like the last Batman movie opening and they were able to go back on the weekend with the same ticket stub.

          • Triple M

            Oh right. Sorry. A kid set off a fire alarm..
            Clearly that’s a worldwide conspiracy to hurt DC movies.

        • Foreign Geek

          I agree with that! I’m not sure where this is coming from it weird. I do think people out there do not want DC movies to succeed. Its my weird feeling after seeing what is happening with comic book movies nowadays.

      • Hinscher

        Competition always make people better.
        Also I don’t want clones. SO many times i hear how Marvel did something when talking about DC.
        Let’s have variety. DC movies are different from Marvel movies, and Xmen movies are different from them both as well.
        I would hate if all 3 were all alike.

        • Louisecbrown1


          “my .friend’s mate Is getting 98$. HOURLY. on the internet.”….


          two days ago new Mc.Laren. F1 bought after earning 18,512$,,,this was my previous month’s paycheck ,and-a little over, 17k$ Last month ..3-5 h/r of work a days ..with extra open doors & weekly. paychecks.. it’s realy the easiest work I have ever Do.. I Joined This 7 months ago and now making over 87$, p/h.Learn. More right Here!oi1679➤➤➤➤➤ http://GlobalSuperEmploymentVacanciesReportsTime/GetPaid/98$hourly…. .❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:❖:❦:::::!oi1679…..

    • DCFan

      TheSTN, Thank you for that :)

    • ZeroYear42

      Thank you so much!

    • DarkoCool

      Truer words have never been spoken! I love MOS and cannot wait till 6pm tomorrow!

  • Fantastic review. I loved MoS and on repeated viewings (like 50+) the retelling of what Zod did 3 or 4 times is unnecessary but it’s still the best Superman movie I’ve ever seen (I type this while watching Superman btw).
    1) Most reviews say it’s too dark…which I could care less about cuz the source material is dark.
    2) Most reviews that are insanely negative use a Marvel reference right after the negative remark…I disregard those immediately.
    3) Most reviews talk about lack of humor and compare it against Marvel…I also ignore those.
    4) Marvel isn’t the end all be all of films: Iron Man 2 & 3 were disappointing. Thor 2 wasn’t good. Ultron was a big step down from Avengers. I didn’t really like Ant-Man…yet critics love to praise Marvel and bash DC. I like being a fan of both.
    5) critics slam DC saying they’re copying Marvel…then hate on DC when they don’t make a movie that feels like Marvel…just ridiculous.
    6) I 100% think this movie is stuffed with too much going on…but I guarantee its not a 4/10.

    • Agreed – I think many people forget that even in the comics there are times where Superman gets dark. It just boggles mah mind o.O

    • DarkoCool

      I especially love watching the fight scenes in slo-mo! Watching Supes and Zod generate sonic booms while punching each other is priceless!

    • Cody Enos

      Funny thing is I thought BvS had a good amount of humor. Not too much, but not too little to make it depressing. That, and they had different types of humor. Marvel humor (She with you?) Sarcastic humor (Alfred) and just some fun (I figured….because of the cape). I honestly don’t know what movie critics were watching, but it sure didn’t sound like BvS

  • Digger Harkness

    What are you thinking taking your nephews?!?! Didn’t you hear this film is dark, gritty, and devoid of any humor!!?!

    Disclaimer: This is a sarcastic post made to point fun at the ridiculous reviews this film has received from so many other sites.

    • xxjinzaxx

      Some people are exaggerating to justify their reason for not liking the film. Personally, I didn’t see a single thing in this movie that would have made me sink into my seat in fear as a kid.

      I’m with you. That stupid claim about not tame enough for kids needs to be mocked. If anything a kid could be put off by the lack of action pieces in the film.

      • Cody Enos

        There were a few jump scares I thought may have been frightening for 10 and under.

        • xxjinzaxx

          Yeah, but that is par for the course when a loud sound effect is used to startle someone.

        • Foreign Geek

          Yep…the bat dream…and I thought the scene where young Bruce was “Ascending” was kinda creepy too.

    • Cody Enos

      The funny thing is, with critics panning this movie for being too dark, I thought this was lighter than Man of Steel. It had brutal action, and some scary scenes, but I could feel a lot more hopeful, and there were more jokes that I and the audience really liked. I can’t think of a good joke, if any joke, from Man of Steel.

  • Carl

    So where is the article talking about the critical panning of BvS?

  • Marquis de Sade

    BvS is now tracking at 39% ROTTEN on Rotten Tomatoes.

    • SAMURAI36

      SO?

      • Marquis de Sade

        Yeah, my bad. It’s now trackin’ at 29%.

  • Marquis de Sade

    Well, Drew and Roth at HITFLIX just posted a 5 minute video reaction in the theater lobby, and they were both disappointed…but Drew more so than Roth, literally tore it a new azzhole. His actual indepth, detailed spoiler review will be posted tomorrow morning.

  • JMMagwood

    Reading several of the negative reviews this morning. Many are quite odd. As a disclaimer, I will admit I could be biased, but it sure seems like the biggest problem many of these critics have is that it’s not a Marvel movie. There’s not enough lite parts, and the characters are too dour. It’s too heavy for a superhero movie. One theme running through most of them is a problem with Batman fighting Superman to begin with. How will these same reviewers react to “Civil War”???

    • Andrew J. Miller

      Have you seen BvS?
      The reason they fight strains credulity and only makes the two heroes look like complete dumbasses.

      • JMMagwood

        Of course I saw it, and I intend to see it again soon. If you don’t accept Bruce Wayne’s worldview changing tragedy suffered because of the events in “Man of Steel,” I don’t know what to say to you. I saw the building conflict as brilliant characterization, and well reasoned plotting.

  • breakerbaker

    It’s really interesting to see how disparate the reactions are. A lot of the positive reactions are that it’s either great or just short of great. A lot of the negative responses are vehemently negative. Both the most positive and the most negative have the twinge of bias, which probably isn’t altogether surprising–if you want to love the movie, you’re going to be more likely (a lot of times) to overlook or minimize what doesn’t work; if you go in not expecting a movie to work, it’s that much more difficult to keep an open mind.

    For me, after the punch to the gut of how mixed the reaction is, I’m almost (though not quite) happy to know that a lot of people say it doesn’t work. I still want it to, but to know that enough people think it doesn’t allows me to lower expectations going in. The near unanimous praise for The Dark Knight allowed me to let down my defenses to the point that when I basically hated that movie, I was completely caught off guard.

    • Hinscher

      Well I don’t get critics. Dark Knight Rises i felt was insanely bad. I might have enjoyed it first watch, but that movie has so many plot holes, bad moments, flawed scenes, ect that it almost makes the rest of the trilogy unwatchable for me. Kind of like how Matrix 2-3 ruined Matrix 1 for me. Yet Rises got great reviews
      The Marvel movies don’t have any glaring problems that ruin another, they just are so similar that i’m not really ever excited to rewatch any. They are all just fun action and one liners. No good villians, (sans Loki) no riviting stories (san Winter Soldier) and just forgetable imo. THe best part of the movies are a few comic book shots (shown in trailers) and the end credits. They are all style with no substance.
      Meanwhile Man of steel was (seeing as Snyder directed, obvious style) plus I thought it had great substance. I can rewatch that for its many great themes and things it tackled. Also find it funny how one of the big complaints about he movie is too much action. You have arguably the best action scenes in all of cinema in a movie and then complain there is too much of it?
      I’m funnily seeing the same complaint for this BvS movie. Oh also saw some complaints about wonder woman being too small a character. Yea ok, so for months people think its too crowded and it should be only BvS, and then when it comes out they complain its too much BvS.

      • breakerbaker

        I’m seeing it tomorrow and I’m going to remain hopeful that I like it. I like MoS more than most Marvel movies, but it’s a movie with flaws I’ve spent a lot of the last three years placing at the feet of Goyer (and Snyder’s general inability to pinpoint when the writing isn’t working). I’ve talked up Snyder as a great visual storyteller who’s never been able to pair his talents with a good script, so I’ve held out a fair amount of hope for this movie.

        The “grimdark” thing doesn’t bother me. Comic book movies that seem “ponderous” don’t bother me–I’ve always thought comic book movies should feel ponderous, but I came of age in the 1980s and 90s. The notion that the script lacks focus…that concerns me a bit. I assume it will have pacing issues–most of these types of movies do, but I want a coherent story. The one criticism I have seen of the movie that really concerns me is that it’s a “mess.”

        I’m going to go into it hopeful, but if I come out thinking it was a mess, I’m going to be disappointed.

        • Hinscher

          Yea I see it tomorrow too. I also extremely love Man of Steel. The few flaws I have are minor.
          1. No dog stays in a car when people leave unless you force him too. Should have had Johnathon go back to save a trapped person/kid.
          2. Lois/Clark kiss. Felt rushed, plus cheezy line. I didn’t feel enough chemistry between them to have a kiss at that moment. Save that for sequal, or this movie.
          3. Tentacles machine. Unnecessary CGI. Just have Clark have a hard time destroying it like he did, and then have him unconscious afterwards to stall time for other story to not be interrupted by him.
          4. Bad CGI of Clark on fire when saving Oil guys.
          That’s about it.
          I hear many complaints about it not being a Superman movie. Well imo, it isn’t. It’s a Clark/Kal-el story. An Alien origins story. He is not superman yet. It’s like a prequal movie. I figure he won’t be superman until the first Justice League movie. Then after that when we get a stand alone superman movie, it will indeed be a superman movie.

    • SAMURAI36

      What weird reasoning, but if it works for you….

      • breakerbaker

        As it turns out, it didn’t work for me. I was still too hopeful.

  • need a bigger gravy boat

    Well batman was cool anyways

  • Drew Douglas

    Skipped down to the bottom for the score. Will read later. I’m amped no matter what. Can’t wait for tomorrow afternoon!

  • Pingback: Batman V.S. Superman First Reviews Are Out And It Looks Grim - TICGN()

  • jollybrah

    I personally really enjoyed the film, I had to take a moment to process it all but I would say I loved it although I need to see it a couple more times. The film starts strong and ends strong but sort of loses its way in the middle. The middle was like a bunch of hills, up and down, up and down, up and down. Plus as a die hard Superman fan that ending had me balling my eyes out, I cried for at least half and hour after the movie, what a bold and ballsy move.

    • Hinscher

      I think the trouble with the middle as you said is the first time viewing we don’g see how all those events are connected.
      I mean we have Superman dealing with stuff, Lois off investigating, Batman off doing his thing and Lex doing things.

      In the end we find out that all of those events are interlocked and deal with Lex, but on first watching it can really feel disjointed and separate.

      • jollybrah

        That’s very true. I think on a second viewing the film will come together much better. To bad most viewers and critics won’t give it a second chance.

  • Ivan Corona

    Well said, I agree 100% with this review. It’s how you approach it, that makes it an amazing movie.

  • Ra’s Al Ghul

    Batman has been able to move his neck since the dark knight. Snyder didn’t even think Supeeman would n

    • SAMURAI36

      Good thing Snyder didn’t design the costumes, then.

      Sounds like somebody doesn’t understand how movies are made.

      • Ra’s Al Ghul

        Sounds like someone doesn’t understand language. Everybody knows Snyder didn’t design the gadgets,suit or the Batmobile but he stole the ideas from the TDK trilogy without giving credit to Nolan(who did personally work on the design of the Batmobile).

        • SAMURAI36

          Ah, yes, that’s right: he “stole” stuff from the guy that he co-produced MOS with, and that served as exec-producer on BVS.

          You have no idea how utterly ridiculous you sound.

  • ghost race Killa

    Thank thank God somebody actually paid attention to the movie before they wrote the review and didn’t have preconceived ideas of the movie best DC film and possibly one of the best comic book movies yet

  • Cody Enos

    Wow, I honestly can’t believe that my thoughts are exactly yours! Seriously, right down to the score it’s like….awesomely strange. I really loved this movie, and it’s refreshing to see an actual positive review on this, while also giving critiques where critiques are due. This film wasn’t perfect at all, but the stuff I had problems with were absolutely minor. Honestly, I’m really puzzled by the critics hate. BvS, to me, was superior to Man of Steel, and it looks like Zack Snyder is growing as he does more comic book films, which only makes me that much more excited to see Justice League. If I felt like my little geek heart was about to burst from happiness at seeing Batman/Superman/Wonder Woman all fight brilliantly against one foe, I can’t wait to see what 7 vs 1 will look like!

  • Ekhayeme Cally

    Thanks Nathaniel. Your review above has actually pitched things a little into perspective for me. I saw the movie and was initially not impressed, firstly because i thought it was too dark. A little humour wouldn’t have killed anyone. Also Lex Luthor was not portrayed anywhere in the comic books as being somewhat like the joker in character. Everything else was quite amazing. Gal Gadot nailed her role and made me a believer in Wonder Woman. Henry Cavil is Superman and Ben Aflek sure did a great job as batman; minus the body count & gun shooting. It’s also great the movie ended this way for Superman, which is all so typical for a Doomsday feature. In all i rate this movie a 7.5/10 and will totally see it again and again.

  • Foreign Geek

    I like this review, gotta say tho that at first I did not like Eisenberg’s portrayal of Luthor until the 2nd time I watched it. Then I realized that he is a very younger version, the youngest we have seen on film to date. So he is showing a lot of idiosyncrasy and he’s like a crazy/evil Dr. Sheldon Cooper.

    Amy Adams did a good job.
    Gal Gadot blew me away with her performance, as both Diana and Wonder Woman.
    Both Amy and Gal has awesome sounding voices. So happy Diana has an accent.
    I’m sold on the Batfleck! lol.
    I did not see that ending coming even tho I am aware of the books. That story arc in the books back in the 90’s was VERY BIG for me, never since Kingdom Come has a story affected me like that one.

    My hope is that this movie wins a 2nd weekend or a close 2nd.