DC Films Gets Its Official Brand Name: “Worlds Of DC”

The DC Extended Universe has been officially named the “Worlds of DC” as revealed during this year’s SDCC Warner Bros. and DC Hall H panel.

Warner Bros.’ Hall H panel began with a segment introducing its upcoming DC films by welcoming fans to “the Worlds of DC”, therefore marking the first time Warner Bros. has given their entwined DC properties a name.

The DC Extended Universe, or DCEU for short, was the unofficial name for all of Warner Bros.’ films and television shows derived from DC properties. In contrast to the Marvel Cinematic Universe in which all films and series take place in the same shared continuity, Warner Bros. had expanded its DC properties with no regard for shared continuity between film and television. Thus, some characters have been portrayed by different actors in different forms of media, such as Grant Gustin’s television Flash versus Ezra Miller’s Justice League Flash.

The next Worlds of DC films are Aquaman this year, with Shazam! and Wonder Woman 1984 scheduled for next year. Their television properties can be seen on The CW in the shared Arrowverse, and a brand new universe will debut on their upcoming streaming service DC Universe with Titans.

How do you feel about the official name for the DC properties? Sound off with your thoughts and comments below!

Full plot details for Aquaman are currently under wraps, though the film is said to center on Arthur Curry’s quest to find the King Trident and his half-brother’s attempt to convince the Seven Kingdoms to wage war against the surface world.

Directed by James Wan and written by Will Beall, Aquaman stars Jason Momoa as Arthur Curry, Amber Heard as Mera, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II as Black Manta, Patrick Wilson as Orm Marius/Ocean Master, Dolph Lundgren as Nereus, Temuera Morrison as Thomas Curry, Nicole Kidman as Queen Atlanna, Randall Park as Dr. Stephen Shin, and Willem Dafoe as Nuidis Vulko.

Aquaman is currently scheduled to be released in theaters on December 21, 2018.