‘Force Awakens’ Actor Nominated for BAFTA Rising Star Award

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) gives out an award every year to honor new talent. The winner is chosen by the public, who call or text in their vote to determine which of the BAFTA jury’s selected nominees will walk away with the award. The first winner was James McAvoy (Charles Xavier in X-Men: Apocalypse), who rose to stardom after his performance in The Last King of Scotland in 2006. Last year’s award went to Jack O’Connell for his work on Unbroken.

This year, John Boyega appears to be a frontrunner for the award after his portrayal of Finn in Star Wars: The Force Awakens. With a massively successful film behind him and voting left to the public who broke the box office on the movie’s opening weekend, his chances are certainly looking pretty good.

Also nominated are Taron Egerton (Kingsman: The Secret Service), Dakota Johnson (Fifty Shades of Grey), Brie Larson (Room) and Bel Powley (Diary of a Teenage Girl).

Each of these actors is talented in their own right, so Boyega hasn’t clinched the award just yet. Empire also notes that Larson has been receiving quite a bit of Oscar buzz. The award may just rest on whether or not fans opt for a bolder acting performance, or if Star Wars fandom wins the day.

The BAFTA Awards will be held at London’s Royal Opera House on February 14. Does Boyega get your vote? Feel free to let us know in the comments below.

Source: Empire

(Kieran Hair)

Heroic Staff

Heroic Staff

Heroic Special Activities Division Agent Trainee Program