Marvel Gives ‘Avengers: Infinity War’ Snap An Official Name

Avengers Infinity War Thanos Josh Brolin Marvel Studios Arnold Schwarzenegger Idris ElbaIn the closing minutes of Avengers: Infinity War, audiences were shocked to see the terrible power of all six Infinity Stones unleashed upon the universe by Thanos, The Mad Titan. With one death-defying snap of his fingers, Thanos turned half of all life into dust in what has since been known as “The Snap” or, more recently, “The Snappening.” But, with the yet to be subtitled Avengers 4 trailer rumored to be revealed Friday, Marvel has officially given a name to the population slashing event in this week’s Avengers MCU Prelude comic.

In the comic, survivors of the Snap refer to the event as “The Decimation,” which has already caused many to explain the meaning of the word and challenge its usage. With the prefix of the word meaning ten, some argue the word does not go far enough to describe the tremendous loss of life caused by Thanos.

Regardless of how or why the word decimation was chosen as the one, true name of the snap, we will have to wait until next summer to find out what the Avengers will do to avenge half of the universe.

Iron Man, Captain America and the surviving members of the Earth’s Mightiest Heroes will return to face Thanos in the fourth Avengers film.

A culmination of 22 interconnected films the fourth installment of the Avengers saga will draw audiences to witness the turning point of this epic journey. Our beloved heroes will truly understand how fragile this reality is and the sacrifices that must be made to uphold it.

Directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, the film is expected to star Robert Downey Jr., Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Benedict Cumberbatch, Don Cheadle, Tom Holland, Chadwick Boseman, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Anthony Mackie, Sebastian Stan, Danai Gurira, Letitia Wright, Dave Bautista, Zoe Saldana, Paul Rudd, Jeremy Renner, Brie Larson, Josh Brolin and Chris Pratt.

Avengers 4 is scheduled to be released in theaters on May 3, 2019.

Source: Comic Book

Hasbro Officially Reveals ‘Captain Marvel’ Action Figures, Dolls & More

Previous1 of 15

Captain Marvel Brie Larson MCUAction figures, LEGO sets, dolls, and more have been revealed for Marvel Studios’ next Phase 3 film, Captain Marvel, starring Brie Larson.

Following the release of the new trailer, Hasbro has revealed the first look at Captain Marvel’s tie-in material that will start hitting shelves in January. Hasbro’s Marvel Legends action figure priced at $19.99 will feature swappable parts, which will include Captain Marvel’s Mohawk helmet. Hasbro will also be releasing a “Photo Power FX Glove” and an 11.5-inch doll. LEGO will be releasing a new set titled, “The Skrull Attack,” which includes the Quinjet along with mini figurines of Captain Marvel, Nick Fury, Talos, and Goose; the set will cost $29.99.

You can check out the merchandise in the gallery below:

Captain Marvel

Directed by Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck, Captain Marvel stars Brie Larson, Samuel L. Jackson, Ben Mendelsohn, Djimon Hounsou, Lee Pace, Lashana Lynch, Gemma Chan, Algenis Perez Soto, Rune Temte, McKenna Grace, Clark Gregg, and Jude Law.

Based on the Marvel comic character first appearing in 1968, the story follows Carol Danvers as she becomes one of the universe’s most powerful heroes when Earth is caught in the middle of a galactic war between two alien races.  Set in the 1990s, “Captain Marvel” is an all-new adventure from a previously unseen period in the history of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Captain Marvel will be released in theaters on March 8, 2019.

Previous1 of 15

  • RNG

    Sounds like the name of a story arc on Agents of Shield.