Marvel Studios Official MCU Timeline Finally Revealed

Avengers Age of Ultron Halloween Marvel Studios MCU Timeline

An official timeline for the canon of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has finally been released, courtesy of the new book: Marvel Studios: The First 10 Years

There has been some confusion about when certain films in the MCU take place, and that confusion reached its peak when Spider-Man: Homecoming included a title card that said “8 Years Later” following the events of the Battle of New York seen in 2012’s The Avengers. Now, this timeline gives fans some insight into when certain films take place.

Here is the timeline of films down below so far:

  • 1943-1945: Captain America: The First Avenger
  • 2010: Iron Man
  • 2011: Iron Man 2The Incredible HulkThor
  • 2012: The AvengersIron Man 3
  • 2013: Thor: The Dark World
  • 2014: Captain America: The Winter SoldierGuardians of the GalaxyGuardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • 2015: Avengers: Age of UltronAnt-Man
  • 2016: Captain America: Civil WarSpider-Man: Homecoming
  • 2016 through to 2017: Doctor Strange
  • 2017: Black PantherThor: RagnarokAvengers: Infinity War

Although it is not listed, it is now known that Captain Marvel takes place in the year 1995 while Ant-Man and the Wasp takes place in 2017, given that it occurs around the same time as Avengers: Infinity War. 

It’s only a matter of time until we find out when Avengers 4 takes place in the MCU timeline.

Here’s a tentative synopsis for Avengers 4:

A culmination of 22 interconnected films the fourth installment of the mega Marvel mashup saga will draw audiences to witness the turning point of this epic journey. Our beloved heroes will truly understand how fragile this reality is and the sacrifices that must be made to uphold it.

Directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, the films is expected to star Robert Downey Jr., Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Benedict Cumberbatch, Don Cheadle, Tom Holland, Chadwick Boseman, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Anthony Mackie, Sebastian Stan, Danai Gurira, Letitia Wright, Dave Bautista, Zoe Saldana, Paul Rudd, Jeremy Renner, Brie Larson, Josh Brolin and Chris Pratt.

Avengers 4 is scheduled to be released in theaters on May 3, 2019.

Source: Screen Rant

Noah Villaverde

Noah Villaverde

Cinema lover. Saxophone player. Coffee consumer. Chronic complainer. Oh, I also write. #TeamHeroic