‘Mission: Impossible’ Director: Why ‘Justice League’ Star Henry Cavill Couldn’t Shave

Mission: Impossible Henry Cavill Set Photo - No Shaving For Justice League
Henry Cavill has to retain his contractually-obligated mustache for Mission: Impossible 6 during the Justice League reshoots, meaning that it will need to be digitally-removed in post-production. Mission: Impossible 6 director Christopher McQuarrie explains why they couldn’t let Cavill shave for Justice League and give him fake facial hair on the set of the spy movie.

McQuarrie took to Twitter to explain this studio-mandated decision to fans on Twitter:

From McQuarrie’s wording – that a fake mustache would have to be ludicrously stuck to Cavill’s face for it to work – perhaps this suggests that Cavill’s character will be involved in a bunch of stunts. It certainly wouldn’t be surprising if one presumes that Cavill will be filling in for the role that Jeremy Renner previously had (since he was way too busy with Avengers: Infinity War to take part in what would have been his third Mission: Impossible movie). While this is an inconvenience to the crew working on Justice League, it’s been said by an insider that digitally-removing the mustache for the shots that Henry Cavill has produced satisfactory results.

Justice League unites on November 17, 2017. The superhero epic features a cast that includes Ben Affleck as Bruce Wayne (Batman), Henry Cavill as Kal-El/Clark Kent (Superman), Gal Gadot as Diana Prince (Wonder Woman), Jason Mamoa as Orin/Arthur Curry (Aquaman), Ezra Miller as Barry Allen (The Flash), Ray Fisher as Victor Stone (Cyborg), Ciarán Hinds as Steppenwolf, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, Willem Dafoe as Nuidis Vulko, Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor, Jeremy Irons as Alfred Pennyworth, Diane Lane as Martha Kent, Connie Nielsen as Queen Hippolyta, Robin Wright as General Antiope, J. K. Simmons as Commissioner James ‘Jim’ Gordon, Joe Morton as Dr. Silas Stone, Amber Heard as Mera, Billy Crudup as Dr. Henry Allen, and Kiersey Clemons as Iris West. Julian Lewis Jones and Michael McElhatton are also in the movie in unspecified roles.

Mission: Impossible 6 begins on July 27, 2018. Its cast includes Tom Cruise, Rebecca Ferguson, Alec Baldwin, Angela Bassett, Vanessa Kirby, Sean Harris, Henry Cavill, Michelle Monaghan, and Simon Pegg.

Source: Twitter

5 Things We Want To See In ‘Flashpoint’

Previous1 of 6

Ezra Miller The Flash DC FlashpointWith DC revealing that the upcoming Flash movie will be titled Flashpoint, fans are wracking their brains trying to figure out what will happen. While the story is famous for rebooting the DC universe before the New 52 initiative, the series is chop full of awesome moments. The book is full of awesome alternate versions of characters and emotional moments that ground the universe-changing story in a deeply personal core narrative. For those who don’t know, Flashpoint follows what happens after Barry Allen travels back in time to save his mother on the night of her murder. When he returns to the present, he finds that everything he’s ever known is different and he’s even lost his powers.

It might not be the perfect story to introduce people to the larger Flash universe, but I trust Geoff Johns. Hopefully now that the plot seems to be a bit more set, a director or directors (I’m looking at you Phil Lord and Chris Miller) will step onto the project soon and help mold it into something awesome. If Warner Bros. chooses to introduce an alternate version of the DC Extended Universe to the bigscreen, there’s no one I’d rather explore it with than Flash. Barry Allen is the heart and soul of the DCU, so it’s only fitting to watch him try and inject some light into a dark version of his home.

Hit Next to learn about the five things we want to see in Flashpoint.

Previous1 of 6

Grant Davis

Grant Davis

A Texan freelance writer with interests in Star Wars, superhero movies, and entertainment in general.

  • Yack

    He tweeted that like we care more about MI6 than Justice League foh