‘Star Wars’ Concert Series Coming To New York City

Star Wars Concert SeriesA Star Wars Film Concert Series is coming to New York City this fall which will feature the world’s first-ever live performance of the score along with the movies. The New York Philharmonic will be performing John Williams’ scores live on stage while the Star Wars films play in the background. Featuring A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi, and The Force Awakens, fans will be treated to a rare dual-event.

Taking place at New York City’s Lincoln Center’s David Geffen Hall, the event kicks off September 15-16 with A New Hope, followed by The Empire Strikes Back September 26-28. In October, Return of the Jedi will play from the 4-5, and The Force Awakens caps off the series October 6-7. Tickets are on sale now, but some of the screenings have already sold out. If you’re interested in snagging tickets, you can visit the Philharmonic’s website.

The performances will be led by David Newman, who’s composed for movies like SerenityAlvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel, and Tarzan.

To really get you hyped for the concert series, you can view the New York Philharmonic’s announcement video below.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi will rise on December 15, 2017. The movie’s cast includes Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker, Carrie Fisher as General Leia Organa, Daisy Ridley as Rey, John Boyega as Finn, Adam Driver as Kylo Ren, Oscar Isaac as Poe Dameron, Lupita Nyong’o as Maz Kanata, Kelly Marie Tran as Rose Tico, Laura Dern as Vice Admiral Amilyn Holdo, Gwendoline Christie as Captain Phasma, Andy Serkis as Supreme Leader Snoke, Domhnall Gleeson as General Armitage Hux, Benicio Del Toro as “DJ”, Joonas Suotamo as Chewbacca, Anthony Daniels as C-3PO, and Jimmy Vee as R2-D2.

Source: New York Philharmonic

8 ‘Star Wars’ Spin-Off Movies We Really Want To See

Previous1 of 9

Star Wars-SagaMay the 4th be with you, everyone! Even on May the 8th! With Star Wars weekend in the rear-view mirror, it’s still a great time to kick back, get out your old glow-in-the-dark lightsaber toys and Darth Vader Halloween masks, and pop in those original trilogy DVDs. Maybe even all 8 currently-released films, if you’re up for the challenge (both mental and otherwise). Speaking of which, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story just came out on Blu-ray, marking the first home release of many Star Wars spin-off movies to come.

Of these, only one future title has been confirmed – Han Solo: A Star Wars Story, to be released in May of 2018. Beyond that, we know Disney had at least two more planned, and probably more down the line. And why not? The Star Wars universe is so ripe for exploration. There are so many characters we were introduced to in the Saga movies that could easily get their own film. And it doesn’t stop there. The legacy of the Jedi and the Sith go back thousands of years, opening up virtually endless possibilities of story material.

Given this abundance of material just waiting to be tapped into, Heroic Hollywood decided to celebrate the Star Wars holiday by compiling a list of the Star Wars stand-alone movies we’d most like to see. While some of the films on this list are more likely to be developed than others, they each share one unifying factor: they’d all be freakin’ awesome!

Heroic Hollywood proudly presents the 8 ‘Star Wars’ Spin-Off Movies We Really Want To See! Click next to get started. And may the Force be with you!

Previous1 of 9

Whitney Eklof

Whitney Eklof

Whitney Eklof is a nerd, gamer, and media lover. She spends her days undercover managing a marketing team and comes out at night to write...