The CW Passes On ‘Wonder Girl’ Series Centered On Yara Flor

Wonder Girl would've been the first Latina-led DCTV series.

Wonder Girl The CW Greg Berlanti Yara Flor

The CW announced on Friday that they will not be moving forward with a series centered on Yara Flor’s Wonder Girl.

As DCTV enters a new era with HBO Max, The CW is still committed to their pocket of characters. Earlier this week, it was revealed that The CW is also looking to co-finance shows with HBO Max that could lead to a bigger budget many fans of Grant Gustin’s The Flash have wanted for years. The CW also recently said goodbye to DC shows like Supergirl and Black Lightning, but that hasn’t stopped the network from developing new series based on DC properties like Wonder Girl and Naomi.

Titans notably featured Connor Leslie as the Donna Troy version of Wonder Girl in its first two seasons, but the planned series for The CW was going to focus on Yara Flor. However, writer Dailyn Rodriguez shared on Twitter that The CW has not picked up the Wonder Girl series pilot.

Do you want to see a Wonder Girl series with Yara Flor in the future? Comment below!

Meanwhile, you can check out The CW’s latest DC series, Superman and Lois, in the coming weeks. In addition to Tyler Hoechlin as Clark Kent and Elizabeth Tulloch as Lois Lane, Superman and Lois stars Jordan Elsass and Alexander Garfin as the sons of the titular characters, Dylan Walsh as General Sam Lane, Emmanuelle Chriqui as Lana Lang, and Erik Valdez as Kyle Cushing. Written by The Flash’s Todd Helbing, the series will be executive produced by Helbing, Greg Berlanti, Sarah Schechter, and Geoff Johns.

Superman and Lois is set to premiere on February 23 on The CW. Stay tuned for all the latest news on Wonder Girl, The CWverse, and be sure to subscribe to Heroic Hollywood’s YouTube channel for more content in the future.

Source: Twitter

Ryden Scarnato

Ryden Scarnato

Ryden's affection for all things DC, Marvel, and Star Wars has led him to entertainment journalism at Heroic Hollywood as a News Editor.