‘Avengers: Endgame’ Oscar Campaign Doesn’t Include Robert Downey Jr. For Best Actor

Iron Man actor Robert Downey Jr. isn’t included in Disney’s Oscars campaign for Avengers: Endgame.

Disney has officially kicked off its Oscars campaign for Avengers: Endgame, but fans will be surprised to learn that Robert Downey Jr. hasn’t been included for Best Actor. Since Avengers: Endgame is the culmination of over ten years of storytelling and the creation of a cinematic universe, it isn’t surprising that Disney is looking for recognition from the Academy. But it’s interesting that the studio is specifically aiming for the awards given to talent behind the camera, rather than in front of it.

While that’s not to belittle the technical talent that went into creating Avengers: Endgame, after Robert Downey Jr.’s emotional performance throughout the film many fans thought he might have a chance for Best Actor. Obviously it’s worth noting that none of the actors in the Marvel Cinematic Universe have been listed for their roles in Avengers: Endgame, but since Robert Downey Jr.’s Iron Man kicked off the critically acclaimed series of films, it’s surprising that Disney isn’t after some recognition for his efforts. Take a look below for the entire list of awards Disney is looking to win.

Avengers: Endgame Robert Downey Jr Oscars

Do you think Robert Downey Jr.’s performance should be rewarded with a Best Actor nomination? Tell us in the comments!

Robert Downey Jr. was last seen as Iron Man in Avengers: Endgame. Here’s the official synopsis for the movie:

The grave course of events set in motion by Thanos that wiped out half the universe and fractured the Avengers ranks compels the remaining Avengers to take one final stand in Marvel Studios’ grand conclusion to twenty-two films, “Avengers: Endgame.”

Directed by Anthony and Joe Russo, Avengers: Endgame stars Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo,  Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Don Cheadle, Paul Rudd, Brie Larson, Karen Gillan, Danai Gurira, Benedict Wong, Jon Favreau, Bradley Cooper, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Josh Brolin.

Avengers: Endgame is now available on Digital HD, 4K Ultra HD, Blu-ray, and DVD.

Source: Disney

DC Universe Debuts ‘Doom Patrol’ Character Posters

Previous1 of 7Next

Doom PatrolAlong with the premiere of the first teaser for Doom Patrol, DC Universe also debuted a collection of character posters for each of the members of perhaps the strangest team of characters to be adapted in live-action form for DC Comics.

In particular, these new character posters highlight Timothy Dalton's The Chief, Diane Guerrero's Crazy Jane, Joivan Wade's Cyborg, April Bowlby's Elasti-Woman, Matt Bomer's Negative Man and Brendan Fraser's Robotman. These posters each follow unique designs that reflect the nature of each character and tease unique personalities amongst the group as well.

You can start the gallery of new posters by clicking "Next".

Which of these Doom Patrol posters is your favorite? Are you excited to see what the cast brings to these roles? Sound off in the comments below, and be sure to continue following Heroic Hollywood for all the latest news in the DC Universe.

Doom Patrol is a reimagining of one of DC’s strangest group of outcast Super Heroes which includes: Matt Bomer as Larry Trainor/Negative Man, Brendan Fraser as Cliff Steele/Robotman, April Bowlby as Elasti-Woman, Diane Guerrero as Crazy Jane, Joivan Wade as Victor Stone/Cyborg and Timothy Dalton as Dr. Niles Caulder/The Chief.

Here is the synopsis for the show:

“Doom Patrol will find the reluctant heroes in a place they never expected to be, called to action by Cyborg, who comes to them with a mission hard to refuse, but with a warning that is hard to ignore: their lives will never, ever be the same.”

Doom Patrol will premiere on February 15, 2019 exclusively on DC Universe.

Doom Patrol

Doom Patrol

Doom Patrol

Doom Patrol

Doom Patrol

Doom Patrol


Previous1 of 10Next

Eammon Jacobs

Eammon Jacobs

English writer with a preference for all things Film, TV and Comic Book related.