James Gunn’s Full ‘The Suicide Squad’ Cast Includes Margot Robbie & John Cena

Geoff Johns David Ayer The Suicide Squad Margot Robbie Harley Quinn John Cena James Gunn David Ayer

Margot Robbie and John Cena have officially joined James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad.

While James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad is expected to deliver a fresh take on the eponymous supervillain team, the DC film will also feature some returning favorites from David Ayer’s movie. Among those previously rumored to be cast members of James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad were Harley Quinn actress Margot Robbie and Bumblebee star John Cena.

Now, James Gunn has confirmed Margot Robbie and John Cena are members of The Suicide Squad team in an Instagram post revealing the film’s full cast. In the caption accompanying the post, James Gunn advised fans not to get too attached to the cast, hinting that more than a few characters won’t survive the mission in The Suicide Squad, as to be expected considering the team’s name.

Check out James Gunn’s announcement regarding Margot Robbie, John Cena, and the rest of the cast in the post below!


Margot Robbie made her first appearance as Harley Quinn in David Ayer’s Suicide Squad and will reprise her role in next year’s Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn). John Cena, on the other hand, will be making his DCEU debut with The Suicide Squad. However, details on John Cena’s role are currently unknown.

The first Suicide Squad followed a team of supervillains who were recruited by the government for a dangerous black ops mission in exchange for reduced sentences. The ensemble cast included Will Smith as Deadshot, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn and Jared Leto as The Joker. James Gunn is expected to deliver on the fresh take on the supervillain team in his upcoming movie, with Idris Elba playing a new character, Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang, Joel Kinnaman as Rick Flag, David Dastmalchian as Polka-Dot Man, Flula Borg, Taika Waititi, and Viola Davis returning as Amanda Waller.

The Suicide Squad will be released in theaters on August 6, 2021.

Source: James Gunn

Sebastian Peris

Sebastian Peris

Canadian film buff, political junkie, comic book geek, and board game enthusiast.