New Set Photo From James Gunn’s ‘The Suicide Squad’ Highlights The Team

Blackguard, Javelin, Mongal and Weasel steal the spotlight.

James Gunn The Suicide Squad DC FanDome

A new photo from the set of James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad offers fans a look at some of the members of the titular team.

Although many films are being delayed due to the ongoing effects of the pandemic, The Suicide Squad remains on track to hit theaters in August 2021, and a freshset photo shows off some of the other members of the team aside from Margot Robbie’s Harley Quinn or Idris Elba’s Bloodsport. Although the set photo doesn’t reveal anything about the plot of the film, it’s great to see the actors clearly enjoying their time making the supervillain teamup movie.

The new shot from James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad shows off Pete Davidson’s Blackguard alongside Flula Borg’s Javelin and Sean Gunn’s Weasel, although obviously the director’s brother is wearing a motion-capture suit for the role. Mayling Ng’s Mongal can also be seen to the left of the trio, but due to Davidson’s expression and Gunn’s obvious laugh, the group definitely had fun as the new Task Force X. It’ll be interesting to see what they’re up against in the film, although a snippet of the DC FanDome footage might’ve revealed Starro to be the villain. Take a look at the set photo from the James Gunn film below.

What do you make of the new image from James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad? Are you excited to see the film when it arrives in 2021? Let us know in the comments!

The first Suicide Squad followed a team of supervillains who were recruited by the government for a dangerous black ops mission in exchange for reduced sentences. The ensemble cast included Will Smith as Deadshot, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, and Jared Leto as The Joker. However, James Gunn is expected to deliver on the fresh take on the team in his upcoming movie.

Written and directed by James Gunn, The Suicide Squad stars David Dastmalchian, John Cena, Jai Courtney, Joaquín Cosío, Nathan Fillion, Joel Kinnaman, Mayling Ng, Flula Borg, Sean Gunn, Juan Diego Botto, Storm Reid, Pete Davidson, Taika Waititi, Alice Braga, Steve Agee, Tinashe Kajese, Daniela Melchior, Peter Capaldi, Julio Ruiz, Jennifer Holland, Viola Davis, Idris Elba, Margot Robbie, and Michael Rooker.

The Suicide Squad is currently scheduled to hit theaters on August 6, 2021. Stay tuned for all the latest news regarding James Gunn’s The Suicide Squad and be sure to subscribe to Heroic Hollywood’s YouTube channel for more original video content.

Source: Instagram

Eammon Jacobs

Eammon Jacobs

British dork who can be found online raving about how good Tron: Legacy is.